One of a Kind Creativity

Creative Projects and Crafts

40 Things I Love About You

on February 8, 2013

If you are you searching for a creative way to say “I Love You” this Valentine’s Day, you are in luck!  For months, I have been trying to come up with the right gift for my boyfriend of almost three years.  I stumbled across this idea on Pinterest.  Visual Heart has a great tutorial.  After a few modifications, I had the perfect idea to make this Valentine’s Day gift the best yet.  My boyfriend is a huge Star Wars fan, so I decided to use a Star Wars themed card deck.

40 Things I Love About You

Supplies:

  • Deck of Cards
  • Cardstock
  • Single Hole Punch
  • Pen or Pencil
  • Book Rings
  • Mod-Podge or Rubber Cement (I used Tacky Glue)
  • Paper Cutter or Scissors
  • Computer and Printer or Pen

Step by Step How To:

  • I used an extra card to measure where I wanted the holes, marked the spots with a pen, and punched the holes using a single hole punch.  This was my test card.  I also used this as a guide for punching holes in the remaining cards.
  • Using the test card, I measured the area for my cardstock template.  Be sure to punch the holes in the test card first so you know how much space you have left.  I wanted my template to be 3 inches high and 1.5 inches wide.
  • I then created a template using Microsoft Word.  I created a text box the size of my template and copied it to fit 12 boxes per page.
  • Using the font Mari & David, I typed one phrase in each box and adjusted the font size as needed.
  • After printing each page on cardstock, I cut out each box with my paper cutter.
  • I punched holes in each card using my test card as a guide.  I actually put the test card on top of one card at a time to punch the holes.  This allowed me to easily line up the holes.
  • I had some brush on tacky glue left over from another project, so I decided to use that.  You could also use rubber cement or Mod-Podge.
  • I glued each cardstock square to the cards and let them dry overnight.
  • The next day, I stacked the cards and used book rings to secure them together.

One thing I would like to note is the brush on tacky glue caused the cards to bend a bit.  I personally think it adds a nice touch, but not everyone will like it.  I found the book rings in the office supply section at Wal-Mart.

I hope you enjoyed my version of this fun and creative Valentine’s Day gift.  I would love to see your projects as well!

2 responses to “40 Things I Love About You

  1. nursel says:

    I can’t find star wars cards on the internet. Help me please!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

