One of a Kind Creativity

Creative Projects and Crafts

Framed Christmas Tree

on August 1, 2013

In the spirit of Christmas in July, I decided to start thinking about some crafty holiday decor a little early.  I was quite impressed with the idea I came up with as even I didn’t realize my mind was this creative 🙂  This project was very simple, but I love the results!

Christmas JoyI used an 8×10 photo frame, scrapbook paper, an assortment of white buttons, and scrabble tiles to create this beauty.  I first cut the scrapbook paper to fit the frame.  I then covered the scrapbook paper in Matte Mod Podge and let it dry thoroughly.  After it was dry, I adhered the first layer of buttons in the shape of a Christmas tree.  After trial and error with several types of glue, I actually used Mod Podge to glue the buttons.  I added to the first layer of buttons until I had a Christmas tree I was happy with.  To add the finishing touches, I glued scrabble tiles spelling “JOY” to the bottom of the scrapbook paper.  I again used Mod Podge to adhere these to the scrapbook paper.  After everything was completely dry, I put the scrapbook paper in the frame and put the glass behind it for extra support.

I’m very much looking forward to displaying my creation this holiday season!  Enjoy 🙂


Leave a comment